Style » Food/Drink

Human Rights Campaign to Host Second Annual Chefs for Equality

Monday Aug 26, 2013

Building off last year's successful effort to raise awareness and critical funds just weeks before voters passed marriage equality in Maryland, the Human Rights Campaign (the nation's LGBT civil rights organization) and prominent food writer David Hagedorn are once again bringing together Washington, D.C.'s top chefs and leading mixologists for "Chefs for Equality," an evening of food, cocktails, fashion and music to benefit the fight for marriage and LGBT equality. The event will be held Wednesday, October 30 beginning at 6:30 p.m.

"Though the DOMA and Prop 8 decisions were steps in the right direction, we still do not have marriage equality in 37 states," said Hagedorn. "And so our work is not done. In this case, that means putting on a show-stopping food and cocktail event to help raise critical funds for equality.

"Fairness dictates that we either allow the benefits for all or none. There is no reason that one married couple should receive the benefits of marriage and another married couple not share in the same benefits," said Jeff Black, owner of the Black Restaurant Group. "If a same-sex couple can't receive the benefits of marriage, then no one should. All people deserve to have their love recognized. As chefs, we'll do what we do best: come together and cook for a cause that affects our industry, our friends and our families."

Tickets for Chefs for Equality are $150 and can be purchased at|Chefs for Equality. All proceeds will benefit the Human Rights Campaign's nationwide work for LGBT equality.

The Details
"Chefs for Equality" -- An evening of food, cocktails, fashion and music to benefit marriage and LGBT equality.
Wednesday, October 30, 6:30 p.m.
Ritz Carlton
1150 22nd Street NW
Washington, D.C.
Tickets: $150 and can be purchased at

Particpants: Chefs for Equality will feature David Hagedorn and top area chefs including Amy Brandwein, Aaron McCloud, Anthony Lombardo, Bryan Voltaggio, Dean Gold, Demetrio Zavala, Devin Bozkava, Enzo Fargione, Eric Santiago, Frederick De Pue, Gina Dakouni, Jamie Leeds, Jeff Black, Joe Goetze, KN Vinod, Michelle Poteaux, Mike Isabella, RJ Cooper, Ryme Lansari, Scot Harlan, Teddy Folkman, Tim Wiss, Victor Albisu, Wes Morton, Travis Croxton, Zoe Tsoukatos, Mary Lee Monfort, Jon Arroyo, Lara Stuckey, Padua Player, Peter Brett, Robert Wiedmaer, Michael Friedman, Danny Lee, Billy Klein and more.


Add New Comment

Comments on Facebook