Taylor Small Becomes First Trans State Legislator in Vermont

Wednesday November 4, 2020

Taylor Small has won her election for the Vermont state House, becoming the first out transgender person ever elected to the Vermont state legislature. Small, an LGBTQ Victory Fund endorsed candidate, is one of five non-incumbent openly trans state legislative candidates who are on the ballot tonight. Currently there are just four out trans state legislators in the entire country.

Mayor Annise Parker, President & CEO of LGBTQ Victory Fund, released the following statement about Small's victory:

"The impact of Taylor's groundbreaking victory cannot be overstated. There are so few transgender people in elected office that nearly every win is a historic one, yet with each barrier broken comes more trans people inspired to do the same. Even pro-equality states like Vermont need trans voices in government to ensure the priorities and concerns of the community are heard. Taylor will bring that perspective to the state House and Vermont can be a leader on trans equality because of it."

In addition to Small, there are four other non-incumbent trans state legislative candidates endorsed by Victory Fund who are on the ballot tonight: Stephanie Byer of Kansas, Madeline Eden of Texas, Jessica Katzenmeyer of Wisconsin, and Sarah McBride of Delaware. Three of the four out trans state legislators are also up for reelection tonight: Lisa Bunker and Gerri Cannon in New Hampshire and Brianna Titone in Colorado. If all the incumbents and non-incumbents win tonight, the number of out trans state legislators could more than double, from four to nine.