A WIn for LGBT Bostonians

Kilian Melloy READ TIME: 2 MIN.

State Representative Marty Walsh and City Councillor John Connolly finished in the number one and two spots in Tuesday's primary election for Boston Mayor. Both move onto the final election on November 5. The next mayor will replace Tom Menino, recognized as the most pro-gay mayor in the nation.

Both candidates have a proven track record of supporting and advocating for the LGBT community.

Connolly has long been and LGBT rights supporter as a city councilor, but prior to his election he was the lawyer for Pride Lights. He also filed legislation to bring the Gay Games to Boston and cosponsoring a 2010 resolution supporting a State House bill that would bar discrimination and hate crimes against transgender people. Connolly marched in the traditional St. Patrick's Day Parade but vowed to never march again after his staff told him it was "the one day a year we are ashamed to work with you."

Walsh worked behind the scenes in 2007 to help defeat the constitutional amendment that would have banned gay marriage. He calls his vote to preserve same-sex marriage as his proudest vote. His voting record shows a strong supporter of LGBT rights. He has marched in the traditional St. Patrick's Day parade, citing "tradition", but says he would "demand" organizers include LGBT groups.

In the at-large council race, the candidates moving on to the finals are Michael Flaherty, Councillor Ayanna Pressley, Councillor Stephen Murphy, Michelle Wu, Martin Keogh, Anissa Essaibi-George, Jeff Ross (who is openly gay) and Jack Kelly.

Bay Windows will be interviewing and covering candidates for mayor and city council in the weeks leading up to the election.

by Kilian Melloy , EDGE Staff Reporter

Kilian Melloy serves as EDGE Media Network's Associate Arts Editor and Staff Contributor. His professional memberships include the National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association, the Boston Online Film Critics Association, The Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics Association, and the Boston Theater Critics Association's Elliot Norton Awards Committee.

Read These Next